Boris’s Broken Promises #2: “I’ll put my land where my mouth is”

This month the Mayor became the largest public land owner in London, inheriting the substantial land bank once owned by the Homes and Communities Agency.

But Boris has always had control of a sizeable land bank built up by Ken Livingstone during his eight years as Mayor.

In fact, back in 2008 Boris Johnson’s manifesto outlined capacity for 39,000 new homes on land controlled by the Mayor and vowed to unlock it for development.

So strong was the Mayor’s commitment that in 2009 he pledged:

I’ll put my land where my mouth is.

He told a meeting of housing developers:

The GLA is sitting on hundreds of potential housing sites that could be used to build more than 32,000 new homes… I’ll put my land where my mouth is and show London is leading the way on delivering affordable homes for 2011 and beyond.

Nice words, but what is the reality?

In total, the number of homes built on GLA controlled land has more than halved.

In total, Ken delivered 2,169 homes on GLA controlled land during his second term.

By May 2011 Boris Johnson had done just 773 with only 304 in the pipeline. As the lead on planning under the last administration, I know that almost all of these homes were started under Ken.

This is a Mayor who promises much but delivers little.

About nickygavron

Former Deputy Mayor for London, London Assembly Member, Chair of Planning Committee, and Labour Spokesperson for Planning
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

